The Forest Primeval

I find something…unsettling about walking in old-growth forests sometimes. As if something ancient dwells there, watching, and my presence is unwelcome.

Or it could just be my writerly imagination running away with me again. ๐Ÿ˜‰

One of the things I love about this area is the sheer diversity. In our hour-long trek along the river, we walked through scrub brush and open meadows, a young aspen forest, a dense cedar grove, along the open water, and through an old hardwood forest where massive trees, their trunks dark and rough, have long since cut off any sunlight from the floor. Their very stillness was a presence in itself.

Imagination or not, I wouldn’t want to be out there by myself at night…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments on “The Forest Primeval”

  1. D. D. Syrdal says:

    Awww, I’m never more at home than in a lovely old forest. Love that pic with the pond in front of the old broken tree.

    • Yeah, I’m pretty sure it’s just my overactive imagination, lol! And thank you…I love that pic, too. Interestingly, it was actually a sunny day, but the way the light hit the camera made it look foggy. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

