A Canadian Thanksgiving Hike

I hadn’t planned on a walk today…well, at least not a hike. But as I sat sipping my first cup of coffee this morning, the day outside my window became impossible to resist. I am so glad that I’m the type of person who gives in to impulses! 🙂

Wanting a change from the vista along the river (as lovely as it is), I headed up into Gatineau Park. It was only 10 a.m. when Charlie and I left the house, so I figured I would beat most of the Fall Rhapsody traffic. Was I some wrong. The plan had been to do a short walk near the park information centre, but when I pulled into the parking lot at 10:15, it was packed, with the field next to it open for overflow. I was so not into bumper-to-bumper walkers on the trail…

Doubling back, we parked at a nearby picnic site with a trail across the road from it that I had been wanting to do for years. Charlie is much more amenable to unplanned walks than my husband, and was quite happy to check out the new territory. The new and breathtaking territory. A hardwood forest in autumn is spectacular. We had a hard frost last night, and the leaves fell like rain — a shower of burnt orange, crimson, and rich, vibrant yellow, scattering across the forest floor and almost obscuring the path in places. Slabs of granite rose like monoliths, standing in silent testimony to the ancient, violent upheaval that raised the hills and the Laurentian Mountains beyond.

My utter enchantment with the day and the surroundings made for a burst of energy and enthusiasm and I walked much, much further than I’d intended. So far, in fact, that by the time I decided to turn and head back for the vehicle, my legs had turned wobbly from the climbing. I think that means I need to do this again. Soon. 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments on “A Canadian Thanksgiving Hike”

  1. D. D. Syrdal says:

    You take the greatest photos! I love the way you frame your shots, and focus on different objects. The mossy rocks is wonderful. Well, they all are! Glad you had such a great walk and found a fantastic new trail.

  2. Thank you so much, Sandy! I give my youngest daughter (a gifted photographer) credit for changing how I look at the world…I literally see things differently than I used to because of her. 🙂


Leave a Reply

